Whiteford to host TCC ‘championship’ game Friday against Clinton


OTTAWA LAKE – Whiteford Bobcat football fans will be in for a treat Friday night.

For one of the few times in school history, Whiteford will host a league ‘championship’ game against two undefeated league teams.

Whiteford has won five league titles in school history – two from its days in the River Raisin Conference and three in the Tri-County Conference. Friday will be the first time since 1987 that the Bobcats hosted a game in which both Whiteford and the opponent were undefeated going into a Week 8 or Week 9 game.

Whiteford (7-0, 5-0 in TCC) will host Clinton (6-1, 5-0 in TCC) on Friday. Kickoff is 7 p.m. The winner of the game will clinch no worse than a share of the TCC title.

Friday will be a championship atmosphere that has been rare in the Bobcats home stadium.

In 1985, Whiteford and Sand Creek both entered the Week 9 battle at Whiteford with 5-1 league records. Summerfield was also 5-1 going into that week and could have shared the title but lost to Madison. Sand Creek beat Whiteford 14-12, to stop the Bobcat title hopes and win the TCC outright.

This will be the 11th time in TCC history that two league teams have met in the final two weeks of the regular season with a league title at stake between two undefeated schools. Whiteford has been involved in a couple of those games.

In 1987, Whiteford and Sand Creek both were 5-0 in Week 8 and the Aggies won, 23-14, to win a share of the league title. They clinched the outright title a week later.

In 2015, the Bobcats went into Week 9 at Clinton with a 5-1 TCC record, facing undefeated Clinton. A win would have given the Bobcats a share of the league title, but the Redskins won 36-18.

In 2016, Whiteford played at Sand Creek in Week 8 with both teams being 5-0. The Bobcats won 48-20.

These TCC teams met in the final three weeks of the regular season to decide the league championship and both were undefeated at the time:

1974: Britton 12, Madison 0 (Both teams entered 4-0, Britton wins title)
1977: Sand Creek 13, Summerfield 7 (Both teams entered 5-0, Sand Creek wins title)
1978: Summerfield 16, Sand Creek 0 (Both teams entered 5-0, Summerfield wins title)

1987: Sand Creek 23, Whiteford 14 (Both teams entered 5-0, Sand Creek won outright title)

1992: Sand Creek 45, Summerfield 22 (Both teams entered 6-0, Sand Creek wins title)
2004: Sand Creek 28, Whitmore Lake 24 (Both teams entered 5-0, Sand Creek wins title)
2006: Sand Creek 42, Whitmore Lake 7 (Both teams entered 5-0, Sand Creek wins title)
2009: Clinton 13, Summerfield 6 (Both teams entered 6-0 in the final regular season game)
2016: Whiteford 48, Sand Creek 20 (Week 8: Both teams entered 5-0; Whiteford beat Clinton in Week 9 for outright title)
2018: Whiteford vs. Clinton (Week 8: Both teams enter the game 5-0 in TCC)

Note: This version corrects early version that omitted the 1985 and 1987 games involving Whiteford. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s