Bobcat players, coaches honored by National Football Foundation

TOLEDO — Whiteford was well-represented at the recent Toledo/Wistert Chapter of the National Football Foundation awards banquet.

Head coach Jason Mensing received the Coaches Award while Bob Ondrovick received the Assistant Coach of the Year honor.

Winning Scholar-Athlete honors was Hunter Lake and Zack Bertz while Nathan Bauman received the Mercy Health System Spotlight of the Week honor.

The Scholar Athlete Awards Banquet was held Monday at the Toledo Seagate Convention Centre.

The Toledo/Wistert Chapter of the National Football Foundation was established in 1962 by Michael “Whitey” Wistert and a group, of friends.

Wistert was the first of three brothers to play college football at the University of Michigan, with all three brothers achieving All American status and having their number retired by the university. The Wistert brothers were elected into the College Hall of Fame in 1967. Today, the Toledo chapter is led by a volunteer team that works toward recognizing the Scholar Athletes within the region.

The region covers more than 125 high schools in 17 athletic conferences throughout northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan. Upon receiving recommendations from high school coaches, a panel of board members select the honorees. More than $275,000 in scholarships have been awarded by the Toledo/Wistert chapter over the years.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s