Multiple Bobcats earn All-State and All-Region honors

7-8 all-state 2017 wf fb


Whiteford is well-represented on the 2017 Division 7-8 Associated Press All-State football team, announced today.

Three-year starting offensive tackle Lucas Tesznar was a repeat member of the first team. He is the first Bobcat to be named Associated Press First Team All-State in back-to-back seasons since Fred Kutzke in 1993-94.

Logan Murphy, who has set a single season Whiteford rushing record with 1,747 yards, was named to the second team.

Head coach Jason Mensing was named as the second team coach. In six seasons, Mensing is 60-13 at Whiteford.

Thomas Eitniear, the record-breaking Bobcat quarterback named as the Monroe County Region Offensive Player of the Year Monday, received honorable mention honors for the second consecutive season. Eitniear has a school-record 17 touchdown passes this season on just 48 completions for 1,260 yards. He’s completed 68 percent of his passes with the average completion going 26.5 yards. He holds numerous Bobcat season and career passing marks.

The 13-0 Bobcats will play Friday in the Division 8 state championship game. The Bobcat offense is just five points shy of becoming just the fourth team in Michigan history to score 700 points in a single season. Whiteford takes on Saginaw Nouvel Catholic Central at Ford Field.

Among the others making the first team were Morenci linebacker Harley McCaskey. Several other opponents Whiteford has played also were mentioned. Mendon running back Wyatt Cool was named to the first team, as was Lenawee Christian defensive back Adam Baker. Clarkston Everest Collegiate head coach Michael Pruchnicki was named the Division 7-8 Coach of the Year. Whiteford beat Mendon, Lenawee Christian and Everest Collegiate during its current playoff run.

Saginaw Nouvel, Whiteford’s opponent in the state finals, has a pair of first team All-State selections in quarterback Tate Hausbeck and linebacker Alex Wrobel.

The Associated Press chooses its All-State squad by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

The Detroit News and Detroit Free Press will announce All-State squads soon while The (Toledo) Blade will choose an All-Area team as well.

On Monday, The Monroe News named Eitniear its Monroe County Region Offensive Player of the Year and first team quarterback, Tesznar a first team offensive tackle and Murphy a first team running back. On the defensive side of the ball, Jarret Atherton and Abba Risley were named to the first team by The Monroe News. Mensing won his second straight Region Coach of the Year award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s