AP All-State football: Bauman, Giesige make 1st team; Ruddy second


Noah Bauman became the first player in Whiteford football history today to be named Associated Press First Team All-State for three consecutive seasons.

Bauman, a senior, was a four-year starter for the Bobcats who started a school-record 43 straight games. He was a first team All-State lineman for three straight years.

His teammate, Cole Giesige, joined him on the First Team Division 7-8 squad, released today. Giesige made the team at running back. Bobcat quarterback Shea Ruddy was named to the second team at quarterback.

Giesige was among the state leaders in touchdowns with while Bauman anchored an offensive line that cleared the way for Giesige to rush for 1,353 yards and the team to average 6.8 yards per rush and have 64 rushing touchdowns. Ruddy passed for 1,230 yards and ran for another 786 yards.

Bauman is also the first Tri-County Conference player to win First Team honors three times. He not only excelled at offensive lineman, but he also had an outstanding year on defensive, making 55 tackles, 14 tackles for loss, nine sacks and four fumble recoveries. He returned one of those recoveries for a touchdown.

The Bobcats lost to state champion Hudson in the Division 8 semifinal at Adrian College. Hudson swept the Division 7-8 awards with running back/defensive back Nick Kopin winning player of the year and coach Dan Rogers winning coach of the year honors.

Kopin had a great season for the Tigers, rushing for 1,616 yards and scoring 18 touchdowns. In the state finals he rushed for 131 yards, scored both Hudson touchdowns and was a key defensive player for the Tigers. He was one of three Tigers to win All-State honors. The others included lineman Cameron Kimball and linebacker Payton Rogers.

Sand Creek’s John Alexander (RB) and Summerfield’s Nathan Herrmann (DB) earned second team honors from the Associated Press. Summerfield’s Brandon Thompson made the honorable mention list.

Alexander rushed for 1,645 yards, averaging 9.1 yards per carry, and scored 22 overall touchdowns. He averaged 32.3 yards per kick return.

Herrmann made 41 tackles at his defensive back slot for Summerfield and had three interceptions. Thompson started the season at wide receiver, catching 14 passes for 129 yards and three touchdowns, then moved to running back and rushed for 1,086 yards, including a school-record 325 yards in one game.

Britton Deerfield had two players honored by Associated Press in the 8-Player All-State football squad announced Monday. Nico Johnson was a first team choice as an athlete after rushing and passing for 1,000 yards and Connor Alcock made the second team at linebacker.

Here’s a complete list of TCC athletes to be First Team All-State by the Associated Press:

Running backs

Mike Servoss, Britton, 1974

Jamie LaRocca, Summerfield, 1977

Jim Slatick, Britton, 1979

Phil McCaskey, Morenci, 1983

Mike Holmes, Sand Creek, 1985

Scott VanDeVelde, Sand Creek, 1987

Josh Bailey, Sand Creek, 1991, 1992

Matt Eggleston, Britton-Deerfield, 1998

George Flanner, Whiteford, 2006

Josh Golkiewicz, Summerfield, 2013

Mathew Sexton, Clinton, 2014, 2015

Will Alexander, Sand Creek, 2020

Cole Giesige, Whiteford, 2021


Pat McIntyre, Sand Creek, 1977

Mike Crots, Summerfield, 1986

Chad Edison, Morencei, 1988

Eric Boring, Sand Creek, 1989

Rob Dancer, Britton, 1990

Jason Boring, Sand Creek, 1992


Neil Herriman, Sand Creek, 1977, 1978

Bill Stahl, Summerfield, 1978

Rob Bentley, Morenci, 1990

Nick Ivan, Britton, 1990

Mike Holmes, Sand Creek, 1984

Mike Shadewald, Sand Creek, 1996

Josh DuPree, Whiteford, 2007

Robert McIntyre, Whitmore Lake, 2008

Zach Brewer, Madison, 2009

Eric Cogan, Summerfield, 2009

Steve Schankin, Summerfield, 2012


Fred Kutzke, Whiteford, 1993, 1994


Chris Palms, Sand Creek, 2000

Torin Merillat, Morenci, 2014


Doug Armstrong, Britton, 1974

Jerry O’Connor, St. Thomas, 1975

Craig Wagenshutz, Britton, 1975

Mike McIntyre, Sand Creek, 1978

Dan Hoffman, Morenci, 1983

Jason Derby, Sand Creek, 1987, 1988

John Iott, Whiteford, 1989

Gary Ford, Sand Creek, 1991

Chad Damon, Sand Creek, 1992

Jeff McVay, Morenci, 1996

Travis McDowell, Morenci, 1997

Jason Briggs, Britton-Deerfield, 1998 1999

Blake Brosamer, Britton-Deerfield, 1999, 2000

Lucas Tesznar, Whiteford, 2016, 2017

Noah Bauman, Whiteford, 2019, 2020, 2021


Dustin Reckner, Morenci, 1995

Dustin Scharer, Sand Creek, 1996

Nick Wohlfarth, Whiteford, 2002

Matt Williams, Sand Creek, 2004, 2005

Jake Gilstorff, Summerfield, 2010

Josh Reau, Britton-Deerfield, 2012

Harley McCaskey, Morenci, 2017

Ethan Eyler, Summerfield, 2020

Defensive back

Rico Sambiago, Summerfield, 1980

Mike Nieman, Summerfield, 1989, 1990

Chris Mansfield, Morenci, 1996

Alex Thomas, Morenci, 2014


Chase Blake, Summerfield, 2010


Ed Schindler, Whitmore Lake, 2002

Ernie Ayers, Sand Creek, 2006

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s